Diary of a Nicotine Addict: The Beginning

Lit cigarette in ashtray

I became addicted to nicotine by having  just a few cigarettes.  Seriously!

I blame it on the fact that both my parents were chain smokers. You could say that I started smoking as a fetus, then spent my childhood surrounded by a dense cloud of second-hand smoke.  I was an addict waiting to happen. If I could go back to that day I bummed some cigarettes from my boyfriend, and not do it

But I did do it. So here I am whining to y’all, because my husband and kids are sick of my love/hate relationship with nicotine, and I’m beginning the process of quitting.

If you are a normal person and have never been addicted to tobacco, or anything else for that matter, you may find my diary posts educational – who knows?  If you are also in my position (need to quit smoking), or you recently quit, please come along for the ride! I have the feeling it will be interesting either way…

Tuesday, May 10th
Dear Diary,
I am contemplating quitting cigarettes soon. I am even thinking of setting my “Quit Date” for May 20th. That would be giving myself a huge birthday present. Do I want to be miserable on my birthday? Of course not. Like I said – I am contemplating right now. the Mayo Clinic has a cool health website that has an on-line quit smoking program. Contemplating a Quit Date is the first step in the program.

All-righty then! I am done with my first assignment.  Cool.

One thought on “Diary of a Nicotine Addict: The Beginning

  1. I’m very proud of all that you have accomplished thus far. I know you can quit smoking too! It was the best gift Gene ever gave me, to quit smoking! I know it will be hard, but you’ve overcome so many obstacles thus far, I’m sure this won’t be the most difficult one for you! Besides, selfishly, I want you around for a lot of more years so that we can enjoy retirement together. And, you have so many books to write, think of how much better you can put that smoking time to use at the keyboard?? You go girl! We love you and we’re behind you all the way!

    Like

Comments are closed.