Diary of a Nicotine Addict: Remembering Why

Locked Up Memory

photo credit: maistora via photo pin cc

Let me say up-front:  The Bitch has been up to her wicked ways, but she has not been successful. ♥

With major life changes going on, retiring and moving from a city to a small town in the Sierra foothills, I have dealt with stress and emotions for weeks now.  I am wanting to start-up smoking again to relieve some of the pressure and strangeness I’m feeling.

Soooo, it’s time to remind myself of why I quit AND  why I need to stay quit. I should remind myself of the perks too.  Yes, believe it or not, there are perks!

Because I have not come up with the box that has my medical info and original list of reasons to quit inside of it, I will do my best to recreate it here.  If you are recovering from any kind of addiction, I invite you to make a reason list along with me. You also have reasons to stay clean. Who knows?  We may even share a few of them…

Jodi’s Reason List:

  1. Both of my parents died young of smoking related illnesses.
  2. I have chronic health conditions that are bad enough without being worsened by smoking.
  3. I don’t want to be the source of 2nd hand smoke anymore.
  4. Always had to interrupt whatever I was doing to go have a cigarette, because I just had to have one! (Perk: I won’t be standing outside in horrible weather because I have to smoke)
  5. Two words: Ashtray breath   (Perk: My gums are healthier and not receding anymore)
  6. It embarrassed me to be the only one at work who smoked (Perk: People stopped giving me crap about it)
  7. Was tired of being smelly (Perk: I can wear perfume and smell wonderful now)
  8. Sometimes I would chain smoke until I was nauseous (Perk: I make a lot of baby blankets)
  9. I hate the lying & conniving  tobacco industry, and I don’t want to support them anymore.
  10. I hate paying all the taxes when buying cigarettes. (Perk: I’ve saved $$$ )
Blogging All Night Long

photo credit: Federico_Morando via photo pin cc

.

How many can YOU list???

7 responses to “Diary of a Nicotine Addict: Remembering Why

  1. I still love it how you call it “The Bitch”. I’m still struggling with my smoking addiction, but Jodi, you give me hope and motivation.

    Like

    • I do? Well, I am happy that my ranting about “The Bitch” is helping people! That is mostly why I started that series of posts back when I started. I mean stopped. Hell, you know what I mean 😉 Keep the faith Tom! If this wimpy addict can battle “The Bitch” for over a year, anything is possible 😀

      Like

  2. Jodi, when I moved in 2010 – 1500 miles away from my family and friends, I was tempted to start up again with the cigarettes…but so glad I did not. I wouldn’t have changed anything. I love that I kicked that habit, although like you, the Bitch still tries every once in a while to lure me back. Smelling good is my favorite, though. When I encounter a smoker now, I have to say the aroma of tobacco smoke on clothing, hair, and skin – is not a good thing. And I’m glad that’s not me anymore.

    Your health, and that of those around you, is so precious. I love your list. Stay strong.

    Like

    • Thank you for your feedback 🙂 Every time I’m around a smoker I ask myself, did I smell that bad? I’m sure I did -yuk…
      May the Force (against The Bitch) stay with you always!

      Like

      • I think I’m in a pretty good place now…after my breathing problems with my recent surgery – I want to protect my lungs in every way!!! But every once in a while, I’ll catch just a whiff of smoke (from a distance – up close they stink!!!) and I don’t really want the cigarette – I want the way they made me feel…

        Like

  3. Not having that first cigarette of the morning feeling like you’re about to die

    Not getting smoke in your eyes or burning holes in your clothes

    Being able to walk more than 20 yards without getting out of breath

    I’ve felt brilliant since quitting at the beginning of the year. Still want one though 😉

    Like

    • Goodness! How could I not mention the hundreds of burn holes in clothes, tablecloths, robes, coats, plastic patio furniture even? Congratulations on many months of freedom 😉 Thank you for stopping by and following “Not Pretending…”. I really enjoy your blog too 🙂

      Like

So... How do you feel about that?

