Sh*t Happens

Whoever came up with the  “Sh*t Happens”  logo has to know us.

It’s been awhile since I have posted. Sh*t Happened. Again.

Last week, we were out-of-town attending a funeral.  While visiting with family over the weekend, hubby’s retina started to detach itself from his left-eye. He suspected this may be happening, because his other retina detached eight-years ago, and you tend to remember crap like that.

He had an emergency exam by a local Ophthalmologist, who told us that  we needed to get hubby home and into surgery, ASAP.

A dilemma because I can’t drive his big-assed truck.  Well… I suppose I could drive it, but it would be like “Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride”. I have very little depth perception and a deep-seated fear of driving in places I don’t know.  My sense of direction is so bad that even with my GPS unit, “Tom”,  I still manage to get myself  lost.

Hubby’s sister, my hero, saved our butts by driving us home (a nine-hour drive). She drove all day Sunday, and on Monday she drove us to Stockton and then to Sacramento where the retinal surgery center was.

It was a tricky surgery – his detached retina had 5 rips in it. His surgeon explained to us hubby’s eye was filled with oil, to help keep the retina in place while it healed. In 3-4 months they will remove the oil during his second surgery.

Say WHAT??? Monday’s surgery will cause a cataract to grow in his eye.  How lovely.  Something to look forward to this summer.

Once home, we tucked hubby into bed. The retinal re-attachment surgery is the first step to healing. Now hubby has to lay face down 3-5 days to keep the oil  floating against the retina to make it heal in place. His back already is killing him from being in that position.

So – hubby’s hurting, sleep deprived, and bored out of his mind. Can’t read or watch TV. No morning walks. He is also suffering withdrawal from his Sudoku puzzle addiction. This is not a happy time for him. Or his wife.

Oh man, is he grumpy!

To compound his grumpiness, I keep nagging reminding him to keep his head bent down, and annoying him by trying to anticipate his every need. I’m probably on his last nerve, and it’s only post-op day 3.

Yet – he wants to go to the Post Office with me tomorrow. ‘Just to get out of the house’, he says. I know it’s really because he thinks I’ll get lost.  I may not have driven in this town or anywhere since last July when we moved in.

However, I think I can find my way down the mountain better than a blind guy.   Then again, sh*t happens.

7 thoughts on “Sh*t Happens

  1. I wish I could have stayed longer, we could have done some girl stuff! But then I had a grumpy guy on this end, in spite of his making it so that I didn’t want to come home, he’s now happy that I am home! Go figure, men!!! Love you, hang in there at least yours will get better once his vision clears up!

    Like

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry about the surgery! I am exactly like you when it comes to driving in unknown areas, YIKES!

    I hope he heals quickly.

    Like

  3. Hope he heals soon and that you don’t go out of your mind in the meantime! Maybe someone could lend you a Kindle or other device that he could use to read while face down? I just saw the tag “wimp” and it cracked me up 🙂 Sorry!

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, he is unable to read with his “good” eye as well as the one that had the surgery 😦
      But his vision improves a little each day as the swelling goes down. He listens to the country music channels & comedy specials on TV when he’s awake.
      Thanks for your comments – they and writing keeps me from the looney bin!

      Like

      1. Too bad. Well, at least he can find some distraction with the music and comedy and every day he’ll improve. And each day means less chance that you’ll wind up in the looney bin. Stay free!

        Like

Comments are closed.