Badder Grandma

Apparently, I did not inherit my Grandma McGuire’s skill. That woman could take great pictures no matter what position the sun was in, or extreme heat/cold. There are so many photos of our family that I treasure now, and they are all because of her diligence.

No matter how much we protested.

When I was a kid, she was always blinding us with that flash-lamp or making us stand still and say cheese. Sometimes, she was more like the paparazzi than a doting grandmother.  I remember her getting fabulous footage of a parade because she squeezed her 4-foot 10-inch frame, through the crowd surrounding the street, until she popped out at the curb with her camera. Nobody even minded – probably because they could see over her.

Now I am the grandma.  Even with an incredible camera, and a wonderfully photogenic family, I was only able to capture a fraction of the fun we had – and it’s blurry. I am so bummed out…

For better or worse, I took these yesterday at the Calaveras County Fair & Jumping Frog Jubilee.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You heard it here first – I promise to learn how to use my camera in extreme heat and sun conditions, with 3 people talking to me at the same time, and wanting to rip my camisole off because it’s full of popcorn, salt, sweat and dirt.

Grandma, I don’t know how you did it!

2 thoughts on “Badder Grandma

  1. Looks like you all had fun, the photos are just to remind you (and the kids) of the fun day you had and the memories you made with them! sounds perfect to me!

    Like

Comments are closed.