Last Words

ooops

If you know me at all, you are laughing right now. I am the clumsiest, can’t walk a straight line sober, accident waiting to happen. I don’t know if my equilibrium is wonky or I am not affected by gravity the same way most people are.

People who are clumsy, are never clumsy to the degree that I am. That kind of sounds like I’m boasting, but I assure you I’m not. For years I believed the reason I tripped over my own feet was because my best friend in high-school would trip me when we walked together. Looking back, I think she did this to make me look stupid in front of guys I liked. Looking back, I have no clue why she was my ‘friend’.

I graduated high school and worked for a year to save money to go to college with my BFF. No one tripped me, or tied my shoelaces together, and yet – I seemed just as clumsy as ever. I did not have to be on my feet either. I could just as easily drop something, then lose my balance and fall off my chair trying to retrieve it.

I am not able to stand still. My balance is so odd, that I have to move my feet and change positions while I stand – or – I will fall over. This is very embarrassing when I’m waiting in line at the DMV. You should have seen me wearing ‘skechers’.

I have no depth perception. I can see you – very well. I just don’t know where exactly you are. Or where the table is. Doorways move into my way – so I smack into door frames when I round a corner. Walking across a room is hazardous to my health. I trip over miniscule bumps in the carpet.

Maybe, as someone suggested, I am just too much in a hurry. Slowing down might help. I do tend to rush around working on my never-ending to-do list. So, I will experiment with this.

“Oh, No!” You groan and slap your forehead.

“Oh, Yes!” I answer the challenge. NaNoWriMo is over and I need to focus on something.

Stay Tuned…

♥  TTFN  ♥

 

2 thoughts on “Last Words

  1. I have an eye condition that messes with my depth perception. My eyes do not line up into binocular vision. I also see very well, but, like you, I don’t quite know where things are in the room. I’ve compensated for it over the years (if my brain sees conflicting information, it simply ignores one eye), so it never got diagnosed until I was way into my forties, but maybe you could ask an eye doctor about it.

    Like

    1. You can be sure I will ask my eye doctor! I get routine exams + diabetic exam every year (I always flunk the peripheral vision one). Thanks for sharing!

      Maybe my ‘last words’ can be something other than “oops!” ❤

      Like

Comments are closed.